Procrastication

I would be lying if I said I don’t procrastinate. Actually, I think anyone would be lying if they said they’ve never procrastinated in their life. It is so easy to get off track and think or do everything but what you’re supposed to be doing. At this very moment I’m procrastinating! I’m supposed to be creating a powerpoint for a school presentation tomorrow and yet I’m writing this instead. If I’m one hundred percent honest, I don’t know how to do any work without procrastination involved.

I’ve procrastinated making another post on this blog for quite some time and now the only reason I’m not procrastinating doing it any longer is so I can hold off on doing my powerpoint. It’s a huge problem of mine. A lot of my work I do I wait until I know I have no more time to spend watching Youtube or scrolling through Tumblr.

My biggest problem is that a lot of the time I don’t even realize I’m procrastinating. I’ll be researching, or just pulling my laptop out to do research when my phone will go off with a notification from Twitter saying something like a new video was uploaded or something big just happened in my fandom. Then, I end up watching a video or checking what’s happening and four hours later I’m still not doing my work. I only meant to check something for five minutes!

Other times, it’s not even that important to me. I will start folding laundry or cleaning my room just to keep myself busy from doing the work. I’ll say I’m taking a snack break and start making a meal that takes two hours to cook. Anything at all that could take five minutes to do, I do it in a couple hours. It’s a big problem when my work is something worth 20% of my grade and I left it until the night before it’s due.

If you go through something similar to what I do, I would recommend watching Dan’s Howell’s video: How To Procrastinate LIKE A PRO. Actually, if you struggle with this, I wouldn’t recommend it because you may end up watching all his youtube video’s and not doing your work, just like I would.

 

Leave a Reply

